My Natural Hair Journey, Chapter 16: 18 Months Later…

My 6- months into my natural hair journeyin pictures, as well as my 12 months pictorial reflection are posted separately.    I thought that, rather than rehash 18 months, I would instead talk about what has transpired in the last six months.   I am fairly sure that my days of the introspective, extended posts on hair changes are behind me and in previous chapters.   With presumably one cut left until I can declare my hair 100% chemical-free, I am ready to move on.  I realized as I was pulling the pictures together for this post that I’m not much of a stylist, and although my look will perhaps always be more conservative, I do like the idea of switching it up a bit more often than I do.

Where am I?   Put simply, June 15th marked  my 18th month without perming my hair.   Although I’ve had to sit under a bonnet dryer when time constraints required, I’ve not touched a blow dryer or flat iron; in light of that, I also consider it my 18th month of [practically] heat-free hair.   That would suffice as an answer to the physical condition of my hair.    Where am I mentally and emotionally?   I’m still working on that one, and since I have one post left (I think) before this hair transition series ends, I’ll use the time to sort through all that this seemingly small change has meant to me in the last almost-two years.

Following my 12th month, I began the year in a good place, I think.   I had accepted my new shorter look as the curls replaced the perm, and I was feeling pretty good about the style.

I think my hair liked cold weather.   

The problem is, we don’t get much of that in coastal Texas.    Spring came along,  and just when I felt like I had it all together,

the Texas heat came in, and myhair drew up.   This hair below reminds me so much of my mother and the days of her Jheri curl.

Want a good laugh?   This was my first attempt at a bantu knot-out, and since it didn’t dry before I had to leave home, it also became my first attempt at a wash-and-go.   Both attempts failed miserably.

Happily, even on the worst days, I can still see progress.   These were my twists earlier this year, when I talked about the realities of fine hair strands.

Three months later, these same twists are still scalpy, but growing thicker and longer.  I’ll get there.

In the meantime, this is the part where I enjoy the summer and my new look.    This is where I begin to see what I’ll have for the next season of life and embrace it.   This is where I have to relearn these curls and what happens to them when they encounter heat and humidity.

This is where I remember my past (how proud I was of this picture at one time!) and understand the mentality for what it was.   This is where I periodically watch a movie like “Good Hair” and get inspired all over again.

This is where I wake up more in love with who God created me to be.

 

8 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey, Chapter 16: 18 Months Later…

  1. You have ministered to me with this post. Who knew… something as “insignificant” as hair styling can be used by God to teach us life lessons and to glorify Him.

    Like

    • So glad this ministered to you, sis! My friend Marcy made the comment to me just the other day, as she learns to accept her new looks and natural hair as well, that you have to wake up and be able to smile at what you see in the mirror. That message so spoke to me! Love you!

      Like

  2. I probably won’t be relaxer free until closer to the end of the year…maybe early new year. That is, if I don’t just chop the rest of the relaxer off! LOL! But I’m not trying to end up in front of Judge Mabeline Ephraim behind some hair shenanigans! So…I’ll be patient and let the braids do their job! LOL!

    Like

    • Going to the end of the year would give me exactly 2 years, but at this point, I don’t know that it’s necessary beyond bragging rights (lol). I have about 1 to 1-1/2 inches of permed hair in my crown, and those hairs are honestly more of a pain than they are worth it. The rest of my ends are naturally curly such that I never use a roller; those ends are straight, so twist outs and twists are, in a word, interesting. I’m ready to be done. But, I can appreciate where you are; if yours looks anywhere CLOSE to your baby girl’s, you will have done exceptionally well!

      Like

  3. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog! I am the adoptive mom to two beautiful girls that have AMAZING curls. I have stick straight hair and my girls know that they are blessed to have hair that can look beautiful curly, twisted, braided, etc! I am so thankful for blogs like yours so that I can see things from a different perspective than my own limited one : ) Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

