My Natural Hair Journey, Chapter 17: Set Free (a poetic moment)

There is a crowd of women

who are bound,

controlled by a lie that says,

“You are not enough.”

“Your skin is not light enough.”

“Your lips, your hips, well, they are MORE than enough.”

“And your hair…UGH!!  YOUR HAIR!!”

Consequently, we learn to hate self, to hate those things that make us US,

and we risk everything–

allergic reactions to glue, infections,

bear the pains of burns,

risk looking ridiculous

in order to conform, to stay bound.

There is a crowd of men

who are bound,

controlled by a lie that says,

“You are not enough.”

“Your skin is not light enough.”

“But THIS woman can make you enough.”

“THIS is what you need.   And her hair…oooh, her hair.”

Consequently, these men learn to hate self, to hate the those things that make us US,

and they look past US in ignorance,

hoping to find a future in what is fleeting.

Or, they stand straight to your face and show their ignorance.

“If you can’t achieve it, weave it,”

or even more ignorant, “I only like women with

l

o

o

o

o

o

n

n

n

n

n

n

g

g

g

hair.”

There is a crowd of people,

women in love with God and His creation in them,

men intelligent enough to look past the outside of US and see THE REAL.

I want to be in that number.

And I’m okay if that other generation

looks at me strangely,

staring at my hat or my scarf,

mocking my curls, my kinks, and yes, my naps.

And I’m okay with my hair…aaah, my hair.

I once was bound, but now I’ve been SET FREE.

2 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey, Chapter 17: Set Free (a poetic moment)

Leave a Reply

