Good Food in Disguise–Sweet Potato Fries

It’s been a minute since I have written a “Good Food in Disguise”  post.    And as much as I enjoy eating, you’d think I could post regularly about delicious foods, but alas, my summer has been as jam-packed as anyone else’s.

True story: being raised in the South, I honestly grew up having no clue what to do with sweet potatoes that aren’t loaded with butter, cinnamon and sugar.   So as much as I loved them, my repertoire of sweet potato recipes went something like this:

1) sweet potato pies

2) sweet potato casserole

 

End of repertoire.

So, what is a woman who is constantly striving to improve her own health and expand her vegetarian son’s menu options to do?   Learn, that’s what!

Here’s the “dish” on eating sweet potatoes–packed with vitamins A and C, calcium and potassium, they are blood sugar regulators, cancer and heart disease fighters.  See much more here!

Sweet potato fries have become one of our favorite side dishes.   They can be dressed up or down, so to speak, so we eat them with anything from burgers to salmon.   Because I have not cooked any in a while, the best I could do is to borrow someone else’s picture!

 

original photo credit

The recipe I use is one that I initially saw on the Food Network’s “Down Home with the Neely’s,” so I won’t take boast in anything other than listing off their version of the perfect sweet potato fries.

1) Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

2) Pour approximately 3 TBSPs of oil into a Ziploc bag (I use a gallon-sized bag for 1 large potato).

3) Place 1/2 to 1 teaspoon (dependent upon your desire for enhanced flavor) of cinnamon and paprika into the oil.   Shake to blend seasonings and oil well.

4) Peel a sweet potato  and then chop it lengthwise into slices that are approximately 3/4- inch thick.

5) Place chopped sweet potatoes into the Ziploc bag and shake until all fries are well coated with seasonings and oil.

6) Place sweet potatoes in a single layer on a baking sheet.

7) Sprinkle sweet potatoes to taste with brown sugar and salt.

8) Bake for 15-20 minutes, turning fries over halfway through the baking process.   Fries should be soft, but not limp or mushy.

As I mentioned earlier, I have not cooked these in a bit.   I found something equally delectable to do with sweet potatoes here.

sweet potato salad

Let me give it to you simple and straight–cubed, baked sweet potatoes, lettuce, tomatoes, peppers, red onion, green onions, black olives, black beans, corn kernels, purple cabbage, and avocados.   The bonus is that if you top it with store-bought french fried onions, you don’t even need salad dressing.   Uummm, ummmm, good.

Leave a Reply

