My Natural Hair Journey, Chapter 30: 1, 2, 3 (a pictorial testimony of 3 years)

I started my transition toward my natural hair, away from chemical perms, in December 2010.

I cut the last bit of permed hair from my head on September 2012.

bbullard totally natural sep 2012

I was in love with my hair on this day, and even more in love with what all those changes to my diet to help my hair grow had done for my skin.   But in hindsight, my hair was fairly thin, and of course, there’s that hairline gray that I eventually henna-ed out of more recent photos.

I have had a five-year journey thus far, free of heat, free of wigs or weaves, and free of harsh chemicals.   But it has not been without its doubts and fears.

I had a vision of wearing twists in the summer–thick, chunky twists like the ones I see all over the Internet.   But when I saw my twists, my dream turned nightmarish.   At that time, I had no clue that these.–

with time and patience–would grow into these,

and that this,

would eventually become this.

 

jan 2015 typing blog post pic 3

 

So, my very simple message to those who are considering your own path is to hang in there with God and with yourself.  In time, this…

 

will become…

bbullard bantu knotted feb 2015 shot 21

(Okay, something really strange happened on the lighting and shadows of this photo, but I hope you get the point).

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.

Psalm 139: 13-16

2 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey, Chapter 30: 1, 2, 3 (a pictorial testimony of 3 years)

  1. I can apply this lesson to several places in my life, my health issues, weight goals, etc. I have to say, you look so young. Almost fell off my chair when I saw your married years and your kids’ ages. Have a great day, Sister.

    Like

    • Mary, how your words bless me, dear friend, and you are right–as I’ve heard a pastor say (can’t remember who or where for sure now), “Delay does not mean denial.” Thanks for the “visit.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

