Books, Business, and Blab: Yeah, I’ve Been Busy

Is anyone else as surprised as I am that February begins on next week?

This month has been crazy…in such GOOD ways.

I began the year doing something different—because I need to move to a new level of blessing.   So when our pastor spoke of a 3-day worship beginning at 5 a.m., I thought, “Oh, goodness, no, that’s too early for me, and I can’t be away from the family at that time of morning, and this is my last week to sleep late before we begin school, and…”   And then I forced myself out of bed each day and worshipped in church, holding my equally sleepy husband’s hand as we dragged each other from bed and then out of the car.

How the Lord has honored our sacrifice.

For several years, I have been in the process of writing a high school curriculum to continue in the same vein as the elementary and middle school that I already have self-published.   A number of factors have kept me from seeing this project to its final stage, including the experience of having a high schooler and actually seeing that learning process in action.  But the biggest factor that kept me from moving forward was fearFalse Evidence Appearing Real.   Was this really my work to do, and if so, did I really have what it takes to do it?

It seems strange after a decade of running a business that has been such a blessing to so many (including my family) to get stuck at a point of anxiety, but being stuck is real, especially when your heart is to do the will of the Father.   It made perfect sense to pause and take a spiritual pulse of my direction; it just made no sense to stay there.   So, within one month, I look forward to self-publishing what will be the first of a 2-volume set of high school history curriculum.

high school covers collage pic 2

A number of business ideas have come from almost nowhere within the last six months.   I went from being anxious to being overwhelmed!   I have had several ideas that have lain dormant for years, and new opportunities to take what I have and put it onto different platforms.   I honestly feel like a first-time carriage driver trying to keep horses from running.   Fear is no longer my stumbling block (well, at least, for the most part); time is now the issue I am having to work through.   But I am determined to do just that—work through it.

I use the word ‘blab’ for the purposes of blog title alliteration, but ‘blabbing’ would not give due credit to what has truly happened this month.   A dear friend of mine married her education and her ministry, becoming a professional life coach.   “Let me coach you,” she says, and I have been “blabbing,” i.e., talking, ever since.  Being coached is work!  I likened the homework, the conversation, and moreso the critical thinking that goes with it, to walking through the neighborhood for exercise!  But, it has been all good.  I am walking through much-needed spaces in order to prune some areas in my life according to John 15:1-5:

“I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit. You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.

“I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing. (NKJV)

 

What a way to begin the year, and although on most nights I am asleep before my head hits the pillow, I am thrilled with the promise of another year on the freeway.  No wonder it’s February already.

 

Leave a Reply

